Our Story

A Rich History...

Buies Creek First Baptist Church began as a Sunday School begun in 1874 by Reverend Allen Betts in a schoolhouse near the current church building. In 1875, Rev. Betts was called as the church’s first pastor. Mr. and Mrs. James H. Gregory gave an acre of land to the church which adjoined the property on which the schoolhouse stood. 

In 1891, the church called Reverend J.A. Campbell as the pastor. In January of 1887, Rev. J.A. Campbell opened a school as an academy and public school for the community.  By 1889, the school had grown and two wings were added to the original building.  With the growth of the church and school in the community, the church auditorium was outgrown and the auditorium of the school was used for worship and the classrooms for Sunday School.

The name Buies Creek was first applied to the church. At the turn of the century, the town took its name from the name of the church and became known as Buies Creek.

In 1913 construction began on the current church building as both a church and community project. The sanctuary was completed in 1914 by men and women of limited means and was dedicated free of indebtedness.

In June 1949, Dr. J. William Angell was called as pastor. During his tenor, the women of the church urged the building of an educational building for the church. The addition was added to the church in 1950.

In 1952, Reverend Weldon Johnson became pastor of the church and chaplain of the college. His service as college chaplain for 10 years was a labor of love for him, as it was for those who had gone before him, signifying the close ties of Campbell College and Buies Creek Church.

In 1968, approximately 100 members left the church to form the nucleus of a new church. It was in 1968 that Buies Creek Church adopted the name Buies Creek First Baptist Church.

Buies Creek First Baptist Church has been served well over the years by thousands of faithful men and women. Countless numbers of people who have come to Buies Creek and found faith in Jesus Christ from both the community and the university with whom our church shares a common history and bears the name of our second pastor. 

Our hope is  we will ultimately be known not simply for our rich history, but that our history will be a foundation on which we will continue to build a great story of faithfulness to God in this place called Buies Creek.  

Be a part of our future...

Join us every Sunday as we gather to worship together a 11:00 am.